Saturday, April 20, 2013


  • "The Death Factory"
  • Location: Oswiecim, Poland
  • Established: May 26th 1940
  • Liberation: January 27th 1945, by the Soviet Army
  • Estimated number of victims: 2,1 - 2,5 million 
The Auschwitz complex was divided in three major camps: Auschwitz I main camp  (Stammlager), Auschwitz II (Birkenau), established on October 8th 1941 as a 'Vernichtungslager' (extermination camp) and Auschwitz III (Monowitz) established on May 31th 1942 as an 'Arbeitslager' or work camp.

No comments:

Post a Comment